Project Food Budget: Week 7

Goal Budget: $40.00
Actual: $47.15

This was a pretty good week.  I think my favorite meal was this one: Lemon-Splashed Shrimp Salad.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but I created the concept with what I had available.  It was delicious.

I was happy with my overall expenditure, too.  I spent a little more than I’d planned, but the total included $11.03 I spent on chicken, half of which I froze.  I also splurged on a few things that made the total what is was.

Splurges: Gazpacho Soup – $2.99, Ginger Peanut Noodles – $2.69, Almond Milk – $1.69, Chicken Sausage – $3.99, and a Georgia Peach – $0.59 (Delicious!).  I’m so glad I got things from the store this week that weren’t on my list.  They made the week a bit more interesting, and collectively put me only slightly over.  Spontaneous purchases = more exciting week.

Now that I’m planning for next week, I’m debating — should I make it a challenge week?  I’m going out of town briefly next weekend, so perhaps I should focus on using up things I have here and clearing out a little more, before I go away?  I think I’ll set both budgets, and then when I plan this weekend, I’ll go for the challenge number.  If I don’t get it, I won’t beat myself up.  Seems like a fun little twist.

Week 8 Challenge Budget: $20
Week 8 Budget: $30

Want to jump in where you are and get started with Project Food Budget?  Check out this link for all the details: http://emilylevenson.com/blog/project-food-budget/details.  There are some really great people participating in the challenge, so to learn more about the project, check out their efforts:

Week 38 Participating blogs: 

One response to “Project Food Budget: Week 7

  1. way to go on a good week of budgeting!! sounds like you had a lot of good meals. and some fun splurges. 🙂

Leave a Reply

