Project Food Budget: Week 5

The budget for this week was $30.

Budget: $30
Actual: $0

Most people would ask why I didn’t eat anything!  But it was a fun week full of a lot of food based events that I wasn’t responsible for paying for.  A cook-out with my best friend’s in-laws and family.  A work event where my boss paid for dinner.  An outing with a girlfriend where I drove and she bought lunch.

I also made a lot of meals with food I had on hand.  (Some of it, especially Monday night’s fajitas, was getting a little sketchy.  But hey, I’m not dead.)  My favorite moment was when I was attempting linguine with clam sauce on Tuesday night only to find that I didn’t have a lot of the ingredients I needed/thought I did.  So I improvised, tomato sauce for crushed tomato, shallot for onion, white wine for red wine.  It tasted good and felt great to use up so many random ingredients!

So for this week, the budget is $40.  I have to buy coffee.  I can’t remember what that costs, and since I’ve never purchased it for one person (albeit a person who does drink 6 cups a day), I’m not sure how long it will last.  I’m also having some girlfriends over on Saturday, and well, sketchy might be ok for me — but not for them.  And I might try to buy a bottle or two of wine too.  I don’t count entertainment eating out into my budget, but I do count buying wine.

Week 5 Budget: $40

Want to jump in where you are and get started with Project Food Budget?  Check out this link for all the details: http://emilylevenson.com/blog/project-food-budget/details.  There are some really great people participating in the challenge, so to learn more about the project, check out their efforts:

Week 37 Participating blogs: 

One response to “Project Food Budget: Week 5

  1. Great job, it’s nice when you don’t have to spend anything and either get free food, or improvise on what you already have!

Leave a Reply

