Project: Food Budget Week 2

Sometimes life gives you lemons and that certainly happened to me this week.  Upon returning home from my trip I found that my boyfriend had moved out.  Wow, that was unexpected.  So now I’m cooking for one person, which is something I really struggle to do.

In the past, I haven’t wanted to spend the time to cook anything fancy because I’m the only person here to eat it.  Plus, I don’t really know what to freeze and I’m not always crazy about leftovers.  So typically I just made simple things and oftentimes, I ate the same 4 things over and over.  And when I got tired of those 4 things, I’d order a pizza.

So this week, I’m going to concentrate on clearing out.  There’s a ton of food in my fridge, freezer, and pantry and its time to use it.  I’m going to set a budget of $30, with the intention of using up as much as I can.  I’ll cook, freeze, and eat leftovers.  And then I’ll refresh my kitchen with summer ingredients and get a little more creative in the kitchen.  I’ll also focus on building an essential pantry that’s more in line with my tastes, which have changed quite a bit from when I first starting cooking.  I’m looking forward to this.

Week 1 Budget: $100
Week 1 Actual: $80.55

Week 2 Budget: $30

I’ve created a listing of everything in my freezer right now, so I can start planning some meals to use up things that have been around for awhile (and have room for freezing summer berries for winter smoothies!).

Shrimp, Chicken, Pork, Sausage, Peas, 3 Steamfresh Veggies, Marinara Sauce, Leftover Soup from Week 1 (2 portions), Ravioli, 1 Burrito, Bananas and Assorted Berries, Cool Whip, Bread Crumbs, Texas Toast and Alcohol.

There are some really great foodies participating in the challenge, so for more budget-friendly tips, check out their efforts:

Week 34 Participating blogs: 

To learn more about this project, I’d encourage you to check out the Details on Project: Food Budget here: http://emilylevenson.com/blog/project-food-budget/details

2 responses to “Project: Food Budget Week 2

  1. Man! Crappy week! I agree – cooking for one is hard. When my husband goes away I find it so hard not to just eat peanut butter and toast all week. I’m getting better slowly. I’ll be watching what you cook! Good luck!

  2. Sounds like you should have enough staples to last awhile. I’m sorry to hear about your bf. Good luck w/ the budgeting

Leave a Reply

