Project Food Budget: Week 1 Update

As I said in my first post Week 1, this has been a bit of a strange starter week.  I’m going out of town tomorrow and won’t be back until Wednesday.  So I’m just going to update how I did this week.

Goal Budget: $100
Actual Budget: $75.56 (as of 5.13.12) + $4.99 at Giant Eagle (5.16.12) = $ 80.55 (still under budget)

I think I’ll be able to stay under $20 on Wednesday of next week, even if I eat out!

Here’s the huge result that came from week #1 – I saved money.  A LOT of Money!  I took my lunch to work all 4 days this week, saving about $7.50 per day on average.  So thats $30 this week.  I ate healthy food, moderate portions, wasn’t bored, and I felt good about it!

I’ve decided to jump into this project right where I am, so while I’m on Week 1, the larger group is on Week 33.  There are some really great foodies participating in the challenge, so for more budget-friendly tips, check out their efforts:

Week 33 Participating blogs: 

To learn more about this project, I’d encourage you to check out the Details on Project: Food Budget here: http://emilylevenson.com/blog/project-food-budget/details

4 responses to “Project Food Budget: Week 1 Update

  1. Hurray! I loved reading about your budgeting excitement! Welcome to your first week! Good luck for the rest of May!

  2. Well done! I’ll be following along 🙂

  3. Welcome to the challenge! I’ve been sort of a rut with my food and my posting lately, but I just hope to do better each week. Glad to have you aboard.

  4. Yay!! Sounds like a great first week. I’m sure you will do even better as you keep playing along. xoxo

Leave a Reply

