Project Food Budget: Week 1

My awesome friend Emily Levenson has this neat food budget challenge going on  over on her blog, Project Food Budget, and there are lots of others who have joined her to share their experiences.  I’ve decided to jump in on the project mid-way through the year.

I’m cooking for two people, me and my boyfriend, for most dinners and I’m including my own lunches in the mix, too.  I have a big problem with lunches, so I’m going to make a strong effort to really plan for them carefully, so I won’t eat out, except for special occasions.

This week, we shopped at two stores, Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods.  Unlike most weeks, we had a gift card for both places, but we had to pay for that gift card, so I’m including the broken apart totals for future reference.

Here are the five dinners we purchased for this week:

A Nacho Skillet with pasta
Make our own Pizza
Cooking Light RecipesChicken and Bean BurritosTex-Mex Chicken Soup, & Shrimp Florentine Pasta

We also splurged on ingredients to make a Strawberry-Rhubarb pie.
Lunches:

Monday: Leftover Nacho Pasta
Tuesday: Frozen burrito/Tomato Soup w/ Feta
Wednesday: Leftover Tex-Mex Chicken Soup
Thursday: Leftover Fettuccine Pasta

Goal Budget: $100 (seems like a good place to start – since I have no idea!)
Whole Foods: $34.51 ($32.90 gift card) ($1.61 CC)
Trader Joe’s: $41.05 ($17.20 gift card) ($23.85 CC)
Actual Budget: $75.56 (as of 5.13.12)  Under budget

I’m going to make a few adjustments to the recipes so I can use some things I have on hand, and I also need to pick up some more chicken for the soup, so I’ll spend a few more dollars on that.  I’ll also be out-of-town from Friday to Tuesday, so it will be a bit of an awkward week.  I’ll go shopping with a menu next Wednesday, so the next update will be a little more comprehensive, because it will include a full week plus a weekend.

2 responses to “Project Food Budget: Week 1

  1. So glad you’re joining us!! Looks like it was a good week with the planning. And kuddos for staying UNDER budget! Your first week, and you’ll already acing it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Project Food Budget: Week 1 Update | Eryn Says…

Leave a Reply

