5 Things

I was feeling pretty low last night.  I was tired, was working when I would have rather been relaxing, and was pretty determined to do my own thing (anti-social).  But I wanted to set myself up for a good weekend by doing more than just going to bed early.  Here’s what I tried, and so far, the weekend if off to a pretty great start.

1. I went to the store with a shopping list that included 8 items.  Those 8 things will make 4 really yummy meals this weekend that will feel me well into next week.  I also splurged on a new mouthwash (never said I was a typical girl – seemingly insignificant things make me happy).  Getting my shopping out of the way was a great way to set up a more relaxing weekend.  (I won’t mention that I forgot to buy 1 thing that I’ll have to go back for… no, we won’t talk about that.)

2. I cleaned up the apartment before bed.  It didn’t take long, but after a week of busy days and rapid comings and goings, things get pretty out of place.  The hall closet becomes the dumping ground for socks, receipts, mail, movies, more socks, winter weather wear and other misfit toys.  Straightening that chaos closet made me feel a lot better.

3. I checked my birthday calendar on facebook.  As I read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin, I keep picking up little tips and ideas that I may want to try.  Birthdays seem like a pretty easy way to stay connected with my friends, so I was excited to see that a few of my closer friends and a few of my mentorees have birthdays coming up soon that I can remember.

4. I bought wine.  I have determined that I drink just the right amount of wine.  A few nights a week, moderately priced bottles, when it will have the greatest impact, or when I have something to celebrate.  Having a glass of wine to take the edge off is one of my simple pleasures.  And I also decided that if I get this new job, I’m going to enjoy the special bottle of ice wine that I’ve been saving.

5. I bought myself flowers.  I didn’t intend to do so, but while picking up onions and lemons at Whole Foods, I spied my “happy flower” in a bouquet across the room.  Gerbera Daisies make me happy.  Their big, smiling faces often make me smile, and so once they were arranged last night, I made myself smile each time they caught my eye.  I put them on my dresser and they were the first thing I saw this morning.  And on this grey winter day, there is nothing better than colorful, cheerful flowers to brighten the day.  Here’s to a great weekend!

Gerbera Daisies - My Happy Flower

3 responses to “5 Things

  1. Your flowers really cheered me up too! I’m working on my wine habit, it’s my way of treating myself too 🙂

    • Thanks so much for saying hi! I like your blog and it looks like you’re taking some great first steps on your happiness project. My #1 problem with bathrooms in general is bad lighting! A window in a bathroom is a huge plus for me, especially if its close to the shower itself. And also, as silly as it seems, a light in the shower can also be great. But in general, check and see if you can increase the light in the bathroom/shower. Is your shower curtain dark/blocking a lot of light? What about towels? Also, check out flylady.net. Flylady has a lot of great tips for helping with these types of habits.

  2. Thanks for the tips, much appreciated! I agree about the light in bathrooms, ours is really miserable and has a teeny East-facing window. I’ll go check out the flylady site for some habit tips too.

Leave a Reply

