Life’s Little Hiccups

I love life.  I love that life is full of unexpected twists and turns.  That its full of hiccups.  I love that life is full of surprises, simple pleasures, friendship, and love.  I’m also glad that I’ve embraced imperfection, because life’s not perfect.  All my best intentions were to post about organization last week, and to really work on organizing my own life.  That did not happen.  Last week was as chaotic as the three weeks that preceded it and despite my best intentions, I was not organized.  I was not relaxed, rational, or particularly happy.

I had what I’ve termed a “mini freak out” this weekend.  Nothing was in balance.  Everything seemed to be falling apart around me.

In reality – nothing was wrong – but it sure didn’t feel that way.

What ensued from those feelings were a collection of conversations, both with myself and with my support network, that put me back into balance.  My mom and I made lists and did pro/con analysis.  I determined my bottom line.  T and I talked about women and men, what its like to be a single woman in a couples world, and how we each approach it.  I evaluated my dating life and determined that I’m in a good place; the person I’m interested in is too special to be lost because of impatience.  I thought through my consulting life and determined that two more clients would be ok, and that I’ll pursue one in hopes that the other follows.  I thought through my work life and this week, I’m determined not to let work win.  I’m really hopeful about all of these things.

After a movie with my friend C Saturday night, we talked about how my “mini freak out” was really just reconnecting with reality.  Being present.  I really like that perspective.  I think its healthy to have that kind of realigning every once in awhile.  And I came away with a few things to work on: scheduling myself in more detail (to better account for my time), opening up with my feelings (so when I do have more emotional moments, its doesn’t seem as drastic), and cooking more consistently (so I don’t end up subsisting on coffee and salt & vinegar potato chips.)

I don’t know what my blog will hold this week, but I’m going to go with the flow, embrace imperfection, and try to celebrate these last 8 days of January.  Hopefully they’ll be another organization post, a layout with stories from my Yesterday & Today class, and some January wrap up posts.  But tonight Eryn Says. . . breathe and live with abundance.  It is ok.  You’re on the right track.  It’s going to be a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

