Work Study Brilliance

As I wrote yesterday, the English Department is a pretty crazy place.  Because I never know what to expect from one day to the next (including personnel changes- which is typically fairly reliable in most work places), I have come to depend on a group of 6 students.  These 6 are some of the brightest, hardest working, funniest and most responsible students I know.

There used to be a very simplistic job description for what they do: make copies, scan documents, keep the copiers and printers filled with paper, and make deliveries.  But when a recent shift in personel left a gaping hole at the front desk, it was these students who filled in the gap.  Now, when the phone rings, they answer it.  They get the mail, then: sort, distribute and alphabetize.  They give lots of information, sign for deliveries, send emails.

But for me, its really the things you can’t readily see that makes them so brilliant.  They are funny at just the right times.  They remember to set the voicemail most evenings, where as I never remember (in fact I forgot last night).  They have a way of sensing when I just can’t take anymore – and they pick up the slack, answering a question, or the 333rd phone call we’ve received that hour.  They know when I need to walk away how to keep the lid on things until I get back.  I really appreciate that.

In a world that is dominated by “who you know,” I hope these students take advantage of the connections and opportunities they have to make an impact.  I hope they get good experience that allows them to grow in their career path.  I hope they have fun, find encouragement, and feel like they “belong” someplace.   Their collective impact is so great.  These students are just brilliant.  And I’m so very lucky to work with them every day.  Words can’t express how much I depend on them and how much they are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

